Great news and bad news

September 27, 2007

Editor’s note: This post mostly applies to those who live in the Los Angeles area. For the rest of you, feel free to skip to my next post.

The great news: It was announced this morning that Dan Patrick’s new radio show will be heard on KLAC, AM 570 in Los Angeles starting Monday (Oct. 1) from 6-9 a.m. (No link is available yet, so you’ll have to trust me — I heard it on the radio this morning).

Dan Patrick’s old radio show on ESPN Radio was easily the best sports radio show in the country and I’m thrilled that not only is he returning to the airwaves, but that I will be able to listen to it. For more info on all things Dan Patrick, check out Palaver, the best Dan Patrick fan blog on the Internets.

The sad news: The return of the Dan Patrick Show comes at the expense of my 2nd favorite sports radio show and the only other one I listened to consistently.

Today was the last day of the Roggin and Simers Squared show, a show by local TV sports anchor Fred Roggin, L.A. Times columnist T.J. Simers and his daughter, Tracy Simers.

The trio were highly entertaining every morning, as they’d argue with each other over little things, but in a fun, entertaining way, not the Around the Horn yelling at each other type of way.

If only there was some way for KLAC to move them to a different time slot or keep them on the air in some capacity. They were easily the best show on that station and best sports radio show in L.A.

Roggin has his work at KNBC to fall back on, and T.J. Simers his column in the L.A. Times. I wonder what Tracy will do (she was an accountant before joining her father and Roggin on the radio show).

Well, at least Dan Patrick is back. I wonder if Keith Olbermann will be on for an hour like he was at ESPN Radio? Or if Dan managed to steal Phil the Showkiller away from ESPN?

4 Responses to “Great news and bad news”

  1. John Says:

    TJ and Simers Squared were very difficult to listen too. I would give them a shot almost every morning and find myself changing the channel. TJ is a very negative person and rogan is stubborn and repetitive and tracy did not know the first thing about sports (ie”payton is a choker”) and just plain annoying. It was almost entertaining hearing her struggle to inject something meaningful.

    The best show is PMS hands down. This is my my radio would be tuned to 570 when I began my morning commute.

  2. Geno Says:

    I truly enjoyed TJ and Simers Squared. They were very entertaining twist to sports, just like Steve Mason and John Ireland a few years ago on 690. Pure sports is dull when everybody is talking about the same subjects in the same old fashioned macho way as all other sports talk shows. Too bad that their schedules weren’t conducive to each other, although I enjoyed them on my morning commute. Perhaps they can do a night show. I find it refreshing to hear Tracy’s voice and is certainly the voice of reason between the two old farts. This trio reminds of another colorful trio – Dandy Dan Merideth, Howard Cosell, and Frank Gifford.

  3. Kobe Says:

    I heard the real reason why Rogan & Simers Squared was thrown off the air was because Rogan slept with Tracy and TJ couldn’t take it anymore. Yeah, i could totally hear it in their voices.

  4. Minorkle Says:

    I miss this show. They had excellent interviews and I even thought TJ showed flashes of being a good person. They were certainly a cut above the loutish and crude PMS team.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

