Angels thoughts 4/13

April 13, 2009

The brawl at Sunday’s game was Josh Beckett’s fault more than anyone else’s. Yes, pitchers throw the occasional wild one that gets away, but Beckett didn’t show any signs of apologizing or that he didn’t mean for it to be intentional. Instead, he went toward home plate, yelling something at Bobby Abreu.

My favorite quote about this:

As Angels starter Joe Saunders put it, “You say ‘My bad.’”

Short, simple, and to the point. Beckett was the one who messed up.

LA Seitz and In Play, No Outs had pretty good takes on this too.

***

I’ve always liked Reggie Willits (not enough that I want him to start, but enough that I’d love to see Gary Matthews traded/released and let Willits be the 5th outfielder). While I’m sure he’d rather be in the majors, it has to be tough for him knowing he’s the one who replaced Nick Adenhart on the roster. Here’s what Reggie told the LA Times:

“I don’t feel like I’m replacing Nick — I don’t think anyone is going to replace him,” Willits said. “But I remember telling my wife, I really hope it’s not me, because of how hard this is.

When the Angels finally add a 5th starter to the roster, either Reggie or someone else will be sent back to the minors.

***

Confirming what we all already thought, the OC Register reports the Angels are probably going to look from within to add a starter to the rotation and not sign a free agent. It looks like Anthony Ortega will be the one joining the big-league club, and while, to be honest, I don’t follow the minor leagues that closely, I am impressed with his stats.

In 2008, he threw 174.1 IP with an ERA of 3.46, allowing only 13 homers, with 105 K and 55 BB. In his first (and only start) at AAA Salt Lake this season on Friday, Ortega pitched five innings, allowing only one run with two strikeouts and no walks.

And he’s only 23. I’m optimistic, but then again, I always am when it comes to Angels called up from the minors.

For more recent news about Angels’ minor leaguers, check out rghan at Halos Heaven or Chuck Richter at Angelswin.com.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

